SOD2 (Sewing On Demand2)


I’m one of those fortunate ones to have a walk in pantry and I love it. Ask me about closet space and it’s a different story but my pantry has been a lifesaver over the years. I have everything in there-the usual suspects canned food and dried goods but also my grommet set (it runs on the big size), kitchen scale, my tealights, griddle, canning jars and so on.

That’s also where I keep my grocery bags both plastic and reusable. Sometimes I forget to bring the cloth ones at the store and I get plastic which end up being used for the small garbage cans in our house so it’s not a total waste.

Anyway, the first time I’ve seen this ‘sleeve’ for plastic bags was at my friend’s house about 5 years ago and I thought it was practical and strange looking at the same time. Would you know that other people have such a sleeve too? Katie has a tutorial link on her site if you want to make one for yourself. I didn’t follow the exact measurements because I made mine out of an old pillowcase which I glamorized pretty-ed up with some sweet Joel Dewberry fabric for a little bit of charm. How much glamour can there be between old pillowcase, dispenser and plastic bag?

...and in my pantry

...and in my pantry

Anyway, though I still think the end result looks strange, the humming of the sewing machine and singlemindedness if the project made me feel a little better than I did last time you’ve heard from me.

I just realized that my 50th post will be coming soon. Stay tuned for a giveaway of some sort.

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

