A Decade Ago


Today is the 10th anniversary of 9/11 and what a day that was…

On Sept 11, 2001 I had been married for exactly one month…I was a military wife who just moved to Southern California away from family and friends. My husband left for work that morning just like any other day and his job at the time was on a missile destroyer. My sister called and said to turn the TV on and I watched the horror on the screen. Panic and shock came over me and I got news that the entire naval fleet had pulled away from the shore to undisclosed locations for an undetermined amount of time.

Over the course of the next days I stayed in touch with other navy wives knowing that if we pulled together things would be easier as we could support each other in the waiting…

Today I’m thankful for peace, freedom and our military men and women. They go through difficulties and sacrifices which are not always obvious to most people and I truly am grateful for their work, courage and service.

Leave a Reply

