It Was “The Forbidden Fruit”…


…but I’ve peeled 8 lbs of apples and 3 lbs of pears last week to make a bunch of yumminess. I decided to check out what Martha has posted for fall recipes and I picked the Slow-Cooker Pear and Apple Butter, Vanilla Apple Sauce and some desserts which I think deserve their own post. So I’ll share those later.

It was a lot of peeling but worth the effort and my house smelled like dessert and cinnamon for a whole day. Yeah!! I also had a big helper-this guy, up there. I found him for a very good price so now he lives in our kitchen cupboard. I highly recommend owning one so I finally bit the bullet…at 33 years old. What does age have to do with it, you ask?…It’s a Romanian thing. What was I talking about? Oh, yeah…apples.

I grated some nutmeg (look how beautiful) into the apple sauce and it’s all ready to go. I would recommend easing on the sugar and ginger if you decide to make it since it’s a tad sweet, methinks. Especially if you want to serve it with pork or a savory dish.

Alright, that’s all I’ve got for you today…let me know in the comments if you have a tried and true apple recipe. Next I’ll share mine and some desserts too.

One thought on “It Was “The Forbidden Fruit”…

Leave a Reply

