5!


Have you seen the super hero? Our super hero? He’s about yay high, charming smile and he goes by Mancub around here. Well, he turned 5 ! We had a little birthday party for him and because he loves super heroes, we donned on our capes and we celebrated. I crammed in a ton of things before I left on a jet plane and I was pretty happy how this one turned out.
I checked Pinterest and brainstormed and in the end, things looked like this.

The theme was “superheroes” because that’s what he’s into right now. I made a banner out of comic books (found at the Dollar Sore) and bias tape (JoAnn’s) and ran it through the sewing machine. It was a snap.

For the cups I used the same comics and gave them “sleeves” and my husband drew a superhero on a board which we ended up using for a game (pin the mask on the superhero). The kids enjoyed it!

Of course everyone decorated their own mask. I found plain white ones at Michael’s and I couldn’t stay away so I joined the crowd around the table.

The cake was frosted to match the scene and while we had power nuggets to eat there were also PB&J sammies. I used a cookie cutter to make them avenger-esque. I wrapped them in plastic to keep them isolated from the rest of the food  since there was peanut butter inside. You could totally leave them out but they are Mancub’s favorite food.

My husband made that fabulous pinata from a balloon and paper mache. He did such a good job!! Oh, and he is wearing that Batman t-shirt but while making the pinata he wore my pink ruffled apron. Yes, yes he did. Fun! He used a tutorial which I can’t find right now but I’ll keep looking.

I made capes for the kids by cutting the front and shoulders off of adult t-shirts while I left the neck band (the part that goes over the head) intact. I printed “BAM” on tranfer paper and ironed that on the back of the capes.

We had great weather and I truly enjoyed throwing this party! Mr A helped by entertaining the crowd and the kids were told he was their go-to guy. Best idea ever and it gave him a great sense of accomplishment.

All in all, I’d say it was a success and now our superhero  can go and tend to his daily mission of crime fighting ({or any other chores he may have around the house 😉 }

Thanks for reading.

P.S. If you have any questions you can ask me in the comments. Thanks for reading. Have a great week!

One thought on “5!

Leave a Reply

